Departments & Centers

The Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine is composed of three departments:

Department of Basic Science 

The department faculty and staff represent the scientific disciplines of anatomy, bacteriology, biochemistry/molecular biology, digital biology (proteomics and genomics), immunology, parasitology, pharmacology, physiology, toxicology, virology, food safety and biostatistics. 

Department of Clinical Sciences and Animal Health Center

Our mission is to provide the highest quality patient care and client service; provide primary, secondary and tertiary veterinary care to the public; educate and train future veterinarians; train graduate veterinarians (interns, residents, graduate students) and advance the art and science of veterinary medicine.

Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine (PPM):

The mission of PPM is to develop the resources to meet the expectations of professionals engaged in farm animal production, their advisors, veterinarians and regulators who protect the industries. Functionally, the department is divided into Farm Animal Service, Diagnostic Laboratory Service and Health Promotion Service.